Home » About Sarawak » Geography » Topography
Sarawak is divided into three regions; the coastal lowlands comprising of peat swamps and narrow deltaic and alluvial plains, a large region of undulating hills ranging to about 300 meters, and the mountain highlands extending to the Kalimantan border.

Before the advent of roads, all the native communities who lived by the river depended on it for food and water. Communities still use rivers to transport them to their farms as well as other villages and towns.

Being Near to the Equator, Sarawak has a hot and humid climate all year round with ground temperatures between 20 to 30 degrees centigrade.

Hear this text
Copyright ©2010 Sarawak Government

Disclaimer: The Government of Sarawak shall not be liable for any loss or damage caused by the usage of any information obtained from this portal. Services provided through this portal are subject to the terms and conditions of the respective service providers.

Best viewed with Netscape and Mozila Firefox; Screen resolution 1024 by 768 pixels
MSC Logo